Friday on My Mind

Today I am still reading Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson; not for want of interest, but I have been too tired at night. The book so far is proving quite interesting; although to date Jobs doesn’t have too much to recommend on the personal front…I’m sure (and hope) it will improve as he matures and develops greater and wider awareness of the world.

I have a large ‘To Be Read’ (TBR) pile of books that are staring at me longingly, however, I hope to finish this book first. I’m not sure which book to read first, so if anyone has a suggestion that would be great. Here is my current pile:

  • My Lord John by Georgette Heyer
  • Moby Dick by Herman Melville
  • The Laughing Clowns by William McInnes
  • The Midwich Cuckoos by John Wyndham
  • Marathon Man by William Goldman
  • Sinner by Sara Douglass
  • The Fiery Cross by Diana Gabaldon
  • The Darling Buds of May by H E Bates
  • A Breath of French Air by H E Bates
  • The House of Silk by Anthony Horowitz

This weeks reading progress has been hampered due to my week long French beginners intensive. This has been a 3 hour class each night and revision etc during the day – oh, and I have children at home on school holidays which is busy busy! The end of the study week wonderfully culminated in a meet and greet event with the two French cycling teams here for the Tour Down Under (AG2R and FDJ). Big thanks to Mikael from AG2R and the other cyclists who were very sweet and helped correct my grammar and find the right phrases. Was nerve wracking and fun at the same time, and ultimately helped me realise how little French I know and that much more practice is required.

Let me know what you have been enjoying reading!

Leave a Reply

