Top 10 Favourite Australian Books

I thought about titling this post as my ‘Favourite Australian Books of All Time’, but I know that would be like getting a tattoo – a mistake as my taste is an evolving and ever changing thing. Or perhaps to save any confusion, I should have titled it ‘Top 10 Australian Authored Books’ as a theme appears to run through my selection, many of the stories deal with those who have come from one country to make a life in Australia – sometimes not by choice.

Inspired by the First Tuesday Book Club‘s aim to establish the top 10 Aussie Books to Read Before You Die, I thought it would be good to share my own top 10. For the voting I could only choose 3 books and that was so difficult when faced with the fantastic choices. These didn’t even cover those that I have read in addition and loved.

Here is my list in no particular order:

  1. Eucalyptus by Murray Bail – magical love story, I just loved the plot of this story and the way the Australian bush is portrayed.
  2. Jack Maggs by Peter Carey – I could not help but love Jack Maggs, as a character he is hard and edgy, but is a sensitive and real.
  3. Sea Hearts by Margo Lanagan – read my review, words are very difficult to do this justice.
  4. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – such a wonderful story of Germany and its people during WWII from the eyes of a young girl who loves to read.
  5. My Brother Jack by George Johnston – this is written in what I see as the classic old Australian style, you can almost feel that you are in those lino floor-covered kitchens arguing with the family.
  6. Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey – I reviewed this earlier this year and loved Jasper, at once hero and victim.
  7. The Lavender Keeper by Fiona McIntosh and pretty much everything else she has written (fantasty, crime and historical fiction) – what can I say, this woman knows how to create a compelling, rich stories that you cant put down.
  8. Picnic at Hanging Rock by Joan Lindsay – my most recent review. Loved the movie, then you must read the book.
  9. For the Term of His Natural Life by Marcus Clarke – I read this book on our honeymoon around Tasmania staying is heritage cottages and wandering through the bush. The story is largely set in Tasmania and it isn’t hard to step back in time with the beautiful countryside and convict ruins a backdrop.
  10. People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks – I’ve read all of Brooks fiction now and it was a hard for me to choose between March and People of the Book. However, I do love a story to travels throughout history, weaving the story around events and people.

I am certain that many of your own favourites are missing from list; possibly to your absolute bewilderment. However, these books also represent different stages of my reading life and have personal relevance and meaning that places them in my list.

So, what are your Top 10 Favourite Australian Books, I’d love to know?

One thought on “Top 10 Favourite Australian Books

Leave a Reply

