The Hound of the Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle, 24 of 52

I have just put this book down and what a jolly fun romp it was. I have never read a Sherlock Holmes story and finally managed to pick up a cheap copy. What can you say about such a classic story, I certainly remember watching an old adaptation of the story on tv as a child and my memories were of something very dark and sinister. I was therefore expecting this book to be the same, however it is such a fun story. Holmes is a hilarious character, yes I did laugh out loud reading this book at times particularly when Watson finds Holmes hiding out.
The character development of the story is also in it’s brevity rich and concise; an efficiency of expression. I enjoyed the compassion that was imbued into several characters, often the women characters. Plenty of typecasting of characters but this doesn’t detract at all. For example the revenge that a Spanish wife might be supposed to take for being treated poorly.
What did surprise me is the description of Holmes, he is portrayed as athletic and yet most portrayals I have seen, save that of the gorgeous Robert Downey Jr, would have us believe that Holmes is long, lean and bookish.
I would highly recommend that you read this story, for escapism and a bit of old fashion detective work.

Leave a Reply

