Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, 23 of 52

At last I have read another book for recreation. It has been a long time since I’ve had the energy to do so, extreme tiredness is my world at the moment. I happily have completed my thesis in Anthropology, awaiting my marks and about to accepted an offer for a PhD scholarship. Exciting times which are accompanied by sad times as my beautiful and much loved father in law fights his last remaining time with the dreaded cancer. Emotional exhaustion I would have to say is the most extreme form of tiredness and certainly doesn’t leave much room for pleasurable pursuits. I do maintain a wonder of how beautiful life can be both in birth and death and how people support and nurture themselves through these times. It is indeed a privlege to be with people in birth as I have just had the absolute honour of being with my dearest friends for the caesarean birth of their long awaited daughter and now I travel the journey with my husband, children and his mother towards the end of his fathers life.

Just as I finished my thesis and handed it up on the 3rd December, I couldn’t wait to get into the Deathly Hallows for the third time, as I’m really looking forward to seeing the first part of the book at the movies. As we all know Harry Potter as a series has been reviewed inumerable times, you either love it or hate it. I have been entranced by the whimsical and fantastic world since reading the first book all those years ago. Rowling has a wonderful imagination and whilst she weaves many mythologies in through her books, she maintains a rich originality.

In the last book Harry, Hermione and Ron work together, somewhat out of their depth, to continue the search for Horcruxes. I do think the book could have been made into two books as some aspects of it appear glossed over, but this doesn’t detract from the overall story. The role of Snape is left answered only until the end of the book and whilst it confirms what I had always suspected, I was a little disappointed that it was left until that last. About the only real criticism that I wish to make.

If you haven’t read the books, then do so, they are so much richer and more vibrant in imaginative story telling than the movies.  I am at present reading Sherlock Holmes and The Hounds of the Baskervilles, which is so far a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

