Write a Winning Job Application by Lloyd White, 14 of 52

I came across this book researching for a job interview. It came highly recommended for it’s clear explanation of Selection Criteria. Now it’s been a long long time since I had to apply for a job, well actually not that long, but certainly for a government position this seems to be the standard format required.

This book is a goldmine of information I wish I had last year when I applied for a position I really would have liked, I now realise that I had no idea of the finer detail and meaning contained in a selection criteria statement. It was my first application for a government position and it had been 25 years since I last went through a government recruiting process – and that was fun! I’m not sure anyone would see the job market fun anymore.

This book breaks down the differences between graduate jobs, senior roles and a host of other employement types. I found the explanation of how to understand the difference between ‘experience’, ‘knowledge’ and ‘demonstrated’ etc, very helpful. The author does however say that if you do not fulfill all the essential selection criteria that you should not apply for the position. I have seen others say, if you fulfil 70% then you shouldn’t be put off  applying if you can justify how you may fulfil the criteria and 90% for senior positions. Something I am struggling with at present!

I have done a heap of research in regards to applying for jobs, developing a resume and online applications. I would have to say that this book was one of the best I have seen to date, particularly as it is Australian centric – recruitment is different here as compared to America where most self help information is produced. If you are looking for a job then buy this book, as you will continually refer to it. It isn’t rocket science and if you follow a formula and attention to detail then it will enhance your job search strategy.

One thought on “Write a Winning Job Application by Lloyd White, 14 of 52

  1. Hi Carolyn, Thanks for your comments. There is now a 5th edition – paperback and eBook. Plus Resume Writing and Interview eBooks available from the website:
    lloydwhite.iinet.net.au
    Regards

    Lloyd

Leave a Reply

